Don’t Tell Anyone

This week has been a memorable one. The summer solstice happened, Paul McCartney headlined Glasto, the build up to Wimbledon began, the England’s lionesses beat the Netherlands 5-1 in a warm up-game for the Euro 2022, and I’ve been wearing shorts all week. Summer is certainly here.

I’ll probably remember this week mostly for the secret re-launch of The Shelter. The Kindle version is on Amazon right now, but I’m not telling anyone just yet. I’m waiting for the Amazon people to merge the current listing with the original one, thereby reinstating all the previous reviews for the book. Admittedly, the reviews are for the old version, and this edit is an improvement on the original – however, the reviews offer a degree of ‘Social Proof’ that is helpful in the over-crowded pulp-thriller marketplace.

The paperback will be available next weekend, but the Kindle version is out now so check it out here, if you like: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shelter-Completely-Gripping-Psychological-Mystery-ebook/dp/B0B53N2F4N

The genesis for the book was one question; imagine stumbling into the People’s Temple cult in 1978, just a few days before they went full blown death-cult.

There you have it. I’ve beaten that particular drum enough for one day, especially for a book I’ve not officially launched yet. It does feel good to get that project over the line, as if everything has fallen into place. You may now be wondering, so Pete, what you going to spend the millions on, now the book is out in the world. Well, here’s a list:

  • Frying pan
  • A silver dollar
  • A set of massive ladders
  • Wiper blades

What I plan to do with these things is my own business. In all seriousness, if I break even with the project, I’ll be thrilled. As I’ve said before – there really isn’t much money in books, unless you’re already a made-man.

I have a few weeks before Mika Ito is back from the typesetters and proofreader, so I can afford to relax and enjoy peak summer. Alfie has also just parked his bum on my typewriter, so I guess that’s a hint to stop this madness and enjoy the rest of the day.

Before I go, here’s The Shelter’s book blurb:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Chilling
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Didn’t want to put it down
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Great Book!!
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ It’s terrifying, and it could happen in today’s world!

You think you’re safe. You’re wrong.

When an unusual category five hurricane threatens to devastate California, it forces five strangers to seek shelter inside a woodland bunker. But the bunker is already occupied.

Pastor Quincy Gordon has claimed it as a sanctuary for his church. He welcomes the visitors, but as the storm rages, he locks the entrance, trapping everyone inside.

Soon, the five will wish they’d taken their chances outside with Mother Nature, because what lurks within the shelter is far more sinister…

The Shelter is a tense and completely gripping thriller. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like T.M. Logan, David Baldacci and Alex Marwood.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
“This was a book that you can’t put down. You have to keep reading to see what comes next”

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
“This was a very chilling book. I was on the edge of my seat for much of the book.”

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
“I encourage you to read a thoroughly clever story, that kept me gripped until the very last word.

PF. Sunday 26th July. 14:36

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Football Season is Back

And so am I. Let’s start with this weeks headlines; Beyonce’s new album has dropped; Will Smith is still apologising; Prince Will is alleged to enjoy having his back doors blown out; the Premier League kicks off next week; and the TV show Neighbours has ended after 37 years. What a weeks it’s been. OutsideContinue reading “Football Season is Back”

Thank you

I got the print proof of the Author’s Edit of The Shelter from Amazon. Looks good. I need to run through it in detail, and that will be the final sign off before it’s re-publication. Phew. We’re finally there, on the home straight. I can’t say it’s been easy, and I can’t say it’s beenContinue reading “Thank you”

Tears And Tear Gas

Well, I hate to say it, but it was another goalless final for Liverpool FC in the Champions League. I was rooting for them, especially on the back of the treatment their fans endured at the hands of the stadium security, which ensured the LFC fans had to wait patiently for hours in a tightlyContinue reading “Tears And Tear Gas”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s